Less than 5 weeks to go!

19/06/2011 00:00

I had a tough day's training today but I did 97 miles which is 9 miles further than my longest planned route & 27 miles further than my planned average (that's if I don't get lost of course), I also climbed a total of 6,202 ft. which is 2,500 ft. more than my planned daily maximum.

I don't know how steep the hills will be or how adverse the weather but hopefully today will stand me in good stead for my JOGLE & help me to enjoy it even more.

My penultimate training ride is already arranged, I’m taking part in the Manchester to Blackpool bike ride on Sunday 10th July. I’m going to ride from home to Manchester, which is about 14 miles, then ride the organised 60 mile route to Blackpool, so a fairly gentle 74 miles total, I’m then getting a lift home (thanks Sue).

On my final days training I’m going to choose a leisurely route & distance, maybe 60 – 70 miles to hopefully leave me at maximum strength the following weekend.

That only leaves next weekend & the following one to decide on. I’ll probably do 70 – 80 miles next weekend but, if the weather’s good I might go for the ton the weekend after.